"It’s discouraging," Ricardo Lamas on the Cancellation of UFC Manila Card


UFC leaves Pinoy fans devastated when entire Manila card was cancelled ten days before the fight night. The promotion announced to reschedule the event after BJ Penn’s rib was injured and pulled out of the fight against Ricard Lamas.

“It sucked. I literally went through an entire camp, I was done training. The only thing that was left was to cut the weight. I was already holding my weight pretty low, and to hear that, it stinks, especially with the holidays coming up. This is what I do to make a living.


I want to give my family a nice Christmas this year, and to have that cancelled when you put in so much work, it’s discouraging. But, I try to push it out of my head and I know UFC will make it right and everything will work out,” Lamas told Ariel Helwani on MMA Hour episode. 

Ricardo Lamas is disappointed. He is ready but his preparations and everything he put in work will go to waste, as well as to earn the show and win money. 


“Athletes scheduled to compete on the Oct. 15 card will be rebooked at upcoming UFC events in the near future. Each athlete set to compete on Oct. 15 will also receive compensation due to the card being rescheduled. With its 2016 calendar finalized, UFC officials will discuss future dates for the event,” UFC stated on the cancellation of the card.


“They said they were going to compensate me. I don’t know the number yet or whatever. They are also trying to reschedule me. Sean says he has some calls out and hopefully sometime this week I’ll find out whether I’m gonna be fighting or not.If it were up to me, I’d be happy with my show and win money of course. I would be happy with my show money, but really, I came to fight. I put all of this work and I don’t want an entire training camp to go to waste. So, I am hoping that they find an opponent for me and get me on a card very soon,” Lamas continue.

Leave a comment