Best of the best compete in PH Open Pool


The best of the best in pool will take center stage at the Philippine Open Pool Championships, which unfurls its tournament proper at SM Megamall in Mandaluyong City this Thursday.


Newly-crowned World 8-Ball champion Dennis Orcollo of the Philippines and defending World 10-Ball champion Mika Immonen of Finland will banner the 64-player field in the men’s division.

The following 10 players are entered in the main draw after emerging champions in the qualifying stage, held in the past 5 days at the Star Billiards Center.

* Chang Yu Lung and Fu Che-wei of Chinese Taipei;
* Jundel Mazon, Roberto Gomez, Allan Cuartero, Renemar David and Roland dela Cruz of the Philippines;
* Mohamad Fulfikri and Yoni Rachmanto of Indonesia, and Tamoo Takano of Japan.

Meanwhile, World 10-Ball champ Jasmin Ouschan of Austria and defending World 9-Ball titlist Fu Xiao-Fang of China will lead the women’s division. The division will see 32 players in the field.

Four lady players, including former Amway World 9-Ball champion and 2006 Asian Games 8-Ball women’s pool champion Lin Yuan Chun of Chinese Taipei, will head the late entries of lady participants who made it in the main draw.

Meanwhile, other notable male and female lady players will also compete in the tournament.

Double world champions Ralf Souquet of Germany and Ronnie Alcano of the Philippines, inaugural World 10-Ball champ Darren Appleton of Great Britain, and former US Open titlist Shane van Boening of the US, are expected to make the tournament a free-for-all battle.

The women’s division will also feature such top-notch players as Ga Young Kim of Korea, currently the world No. 1 in the World Pool-Billiards Association (WPA) rankings, European Tour veterans Allison Fisher and Kelly Fisher of Great Britain, and Karen Corr of Ireland.

The Philippine Open Pool Championships serve as a prelude to the year’s biggest event, the World 10-Ball Championship, which will be held for the 3rd time in Manila. – Report by Marlon Bernardino


Please Bookmark my site!
Support the site by adding your comments below, thanks

tags: Philippine Open Pool Championships, Philippine Open Pool Championships results, Philippine Open Pool Championships live stream, Philippine Open Pool Championships video, Dennis Orcollo,Mika Immonen

Dennis Orcollo is the 2010 Party Poker World Pool Masters Champ


FILIPINO Dennis Orcollo toppled Japanese Toru Kuribayashi, 8-3, to cop the 2010 Party Poker World Pool Masters crown on Monday at the Riviera Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Kuribayashi actually had a good start with 3-1 lead but Orcollo came up with precise shots and preparations and grabbed the next seven frames en route to the victory.

Orcollo, the 2008 Qatar 9-Ball International Open and 2009 International Predator 10-Ball champion, took home a whopping $20,000 top purse while Kuribayashi settled for $10,000 runner-up prize.

“I’m just too lucky during breaks and I think it’s really meant for me. I’m happy that the momentum went on my side all throughout this tournament,” said Orcollo, a former fisherman from Surigao.

Going into the finals, Orcollo blasted compatriot Roberto Gomez (8-6) while Kuribayashi thumped Oliver Ortmann of Germany (8-3) in their respective semifinal matches.

Gomez and Ortmann got $5,000 each for reaching the semifinals.

Gomez, the 2007 World Pool runner-up, reached the semifinals by ousting former World 9-Ball and 8-Ball champion Ralf Souquet of Germany (8-5) in the quarterfinals.

Other Filipinos Efren “Bata” Reyes, Francisco “Django” Bustamante, Ronnie Alcano and Lee Van Corteza failed to advance in the knockout stage.

The RP cue masters are set to compete in the US 10-Ball tournament, which will be held in the same venue.