Back-to-back Champions: A fitting ending for Kim Fajardo as La Salle rules Season 79

From being unsure if she will play Season 79 to being a back-to-back champion. Kim Fajardo thinks that’s the greatest decision she’d ever made.

She anchored La Salle with 43 excellent sets, 4 service aces and a couple of attacks while Kim Kianna Dy and Ernestine Tiamzon combined for 35 points.

But it was Desiree Cheng who shines brightest as she was named the Finals MVP. It was unexpected from others but her all-around performance made her the best choice for the award.

Michelle Morente led the charge for Ateneo with 16 points while setter Jia Morado finished the game with 53 excellent sets.

The game was just a see-saw battle as both team splits the first 4 sets and La Salle was just to much to handle in the 5th and final set. They open a huge 10-4 lead early in the set but Ateneo made a mini run to close the gap to 2 points, 10-8. But Kim Dy re-enters the game for La Salle and it was just to much for Ateneo since then. Lady spikers finished the set with 5-2 score to secure their 10 championship and also for their long time Coach, Ramil De Jesus.

We asked Coach Ramil if how he will replace Kim Fajardo and this is his reply: “Mahirap ‘yun, isa lang yun. Iisa ‘yung Kim Fajardo. Enjoyin ko muna ‘tong moment na ‘to bago ko mamroblema next year.”

Season 80 will start on September with basketball event and it will be hosted by FEU.

Scoring by Set: 19-25, 25-14, 18-25, 25-18, 15-10