SLAM RISING STARS CLASSIC 2017 Kicks Off on March 26, 2017


High-School All Star Game to be telecast LIVE on Abs-Cbn S and A

MARCH 18, 2017 (Manila) – SLAM PHILIPPINES, the #1 ‘in your face’ basketball magazine, is bringing together once again Metro Manila’s top 24 high school basketball players for the fourth annual SLAM Rising Stars Classic, happening on March 26, 2017.  

The country’s premier high school all-star game will return to the Gatorade Hoops Center, the official venue of this annual event, in Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong City, and will be carried LIVE on Abs-Cbn S and A, with coverage starting at 6PM.

“The SLAM Rising Stars Classic gives us hoop heads a cheat code, an advanced screening, a quick peek into what the future holds. With RSC alumni now becoming some of the biggest names in college basketball, we at SLAM take pride in being there for them early: providing for them a unique opportunity to play with and against the best competition, on the biggest stage, in front of scouts, coaches and the rest of the country.” states SLAM PH Executive Editor Nikko Ramos. As we go on another year featuring the brightest stars on the come-up, SLAM is proud to be able to say: We was there with them when they was shooting at the gym.

The yearly event has included such blue chip players as De La Salle University’s Prince Rivero Ricci Rivero and Aljun Melecio as well as Ateneo de Manila University’s Thirdy Ravena, Mike Nieto and Matt Nieto. Other notable SLAM Rising Stars alumni include Andrei Caracut (DLSU), Jolo Mendoza (ADMU), Radge Tongco (SBC), JV Gallego (NU), Diego Dario (UP) and Rev Diputado (NU). Last year, current UAAP Rookie of the Year Melecio drilled a dagger three to give Team Punks the 103-98 victory over Team Hype. The former DLSZ star finished with 12 points, 4 rebounds and 2 assists to take home the MVP trophy while NU’s John Lloyd Clemente led the way for Team Hype with 23 points.

This year, guiding Team Punks is PBA legend Willie Miller assisted by coach Gian Nazario of the De La Salle Zobel Junior Archers. Meanwhile for Team Hype, Alaska’s Tony Dela Cruz will man the sidelines assisted by Joe Silva of the Ateneo Blue Eaglets. International Skills Trainer Drew Dunlop heads the Combine and Practice sessions.

Team Punks will be composed of Sam Abu Hijleh (SBC), John Lloyd Clemente (NU), Guilmer dela Torre (AU), Aaron Fermin (AU), Dave Ildefonso (ADMU), Troy Mallillin (LSGH), Unique Naboa (LSGH), Miguel Oczon (CKSC), Harvey Pagsanjan (HCHS), Karl Penano (NU), Kenji Roman (FEU) and Jasper Salenga (MIT).

Team Hype will be bannered by Carlo Abadeza (AU), Rhayyan Amsali (NU), Lj Gonzales (FEU), Winderlich Coyoca (NU), Juan Gomez de Liano (UPIS), Will Gozum (MIT), Rom Junsay (MIT), Germy Mahinay (SBC), Robert Minerva (CKSC), Martin Romero (DLSZ), Joshua Tagala (SBC) and Jonas Tibayan (CKSC).

This annual event is fueled by Gatorade, outfitted by adidas, with Smart as official telecommunications partner, Resorts World Manila as venue partner and supported by Titan.

For more information, log on to, or follow SLAM PHILIPPINES on Facebook, @slamonlineph on Twitter and Instagram. #SLAMRisingStars