Homegrown Fighter Jenel Lausa at UFC Melbourne: Whittaker vs. Brunson Ready to Make His Debut Successful

UFC Fight Night 101: Whittaker vs. Brunson will be held on November 27, 2016 at Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne, Australia.

UFC Fight Night Melbourne is headlined by the five round light middleweight fight between Robert Whittaker and Derek Brunson, and the lightweight clash between Jake Matthews and Andrew Holbrook.

The event was expected to be headlined by a middleweight rematch between former Strikeforce and UFC Middleweight Champion Luke Rockhold and former Strikeforce Middleweight Champion Ronaldo Souza. However on November 1, Rockhold was ruled out of the contest due to a sprained ACL. Subsequently, Souza was removed from the card entirely and is expected to be rescheduled for another event.

This is the third event where the matches and fighters were rescheduled and rebooked which was originally from the cancelled UFC Fight Night 97: Lamas vs. Penn in Manila. A flyweight bout between Yao Zhikui and our very own Jenel Lausa was moved for this event. Also, Seo Hee Ham vs. Danielle Taylor at women’s strawweight. Yusuke Kasuya, Alex Volkanovski and Jon Tuck were booked for this event but their original opponents were replaced.

Here’s the official fight card and result of weigh in:

Main Event – Five rounds
Robert Whittaker (185 lbs) vs Derek Brunson (186 lbs)
FS1 Main Card – 10 pm ET/7 pm PT
Jake Matthews (155) vs Andrew Holbrook (154)
Kyle Noke (170) vs Omari Akhmedov (171)
Yusuke Kasuya (156) vs Alex Volkanovski (154)
Khalil Rountree (206) vs Tyson Pedro (205)
Seohee Ham (115) vs Danielle Taylor (115)

FS1 Prelims – 8 pm ET/5 pm PT
Daniel Kelly (186) vs Chris Camozzi (186)
Damien Brown (154) vs Jon Tuck (156)
Rich Walsh (171) vs Jonathan Meunier (171)
Ben Nguyen (126) vs Geane Herrera (125)

UFC FIGHT PASS Prelims – 6:30 pm ET/3:30 pm PT
Dan Hooker (146) vs Jason Knight (145)
Marlon Vera (144) vs Ning Guangyou (146)
Yao Zhikui (126)* vs Jenel Lausa (125)

*Zhikui made weight on a second attempt after initially weighing-in at 127 lbs.