Win Streak Keep Going for Team Lakay and First Victory of Rene Catalan at One Championship 47: Unbreakable Warriors

Photo grabbed from Eduard Folayang

Friday, September 2, ONE Championship 47: Unbreakable Warriors took place at the Stadium Negara in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Hometown MMA superstar Ev Ting’s lightweight debut was successful. He scored a decision victory against Rob Lisita. ‘Ruthless’ already gassed in the first round. I was not expecting he would, but Rob did last the thee rounds.

Shannon Wiratchai threw uppercut and punches on Peter Davis that ended the bout by TKO in the co-main event of the fight card.

Yours truly was happy for Rene Catalan for defeating Zhang You Liang of China by unanimous decision. This gave the Filipino fighter his first ONE Championship victory. Catalan’s wushu skills outscored Liang throughout the three rounds.

The win streak of Team Lakay keep going after April Osenio upset Ann Osman by submission in a strawweight bout. This is so far the biggest fight impressively win by Team Lakay’s female warrior. She submits the ‘Ronda Rousey of Asia’ Ann Osman in the first round.

Bruno Pucci was knocked out by Nuerdebieke Bahetihan’s right hook. A hammerfist on the BJJ black belter forced referee Olivier Coste to stop the fight in just eight seconds of the first round. To the ground also, the Filipino Trestle Tan was took by Agilan Thani and tapped out after he was choked in round one. Not happy but I know they are coming back stronger than ever.

Results of ONE:Unbreakable Warriors

Lightweight: Ev Ting def Rob Lisita by Decision (Unanimous)

Lightweight: Shannon Wiratchai def Peter Davis by TKO (Punches), Rd 2, 3:32

Women’s Strawweight: April Osenio def Ann Osman by Submission (Guillotine Choke), Rd 1, 4:09

Middleweight: Gilberto Galvao def Tatsuya Mizuno by Unanimous Decision

Flyweight: Gianni Subba def Yago Bryan Farias de Morais by Decision (Unanimous)

Welterweight: Agilan Thani def Trestle Tan by submission (Rear-naked choke), Rd 1, 2:24

Featherweight: Keanu Subba def Waqar Umar by submission (Strikes), Rd 1, 4:31

Featherweight: Musu Nuerdebieke def Bruno Pucci via KO (Strikes)

Atomweight: Jenny Huang def Jeet Toshi via submission (Arm-Triangle Choke)

Featherweight: Muhammad Aiman def Hisyam Sams via Decision (Unanimous)

Strawweight: Rene Catalan def Zhang You Liang via Decision (Unanimous)