Frustrating lost for the Philippine National Basketball Team!

http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

by: powsalud|powcast.net

Home court Advantage, reinforcements from the PBA(Taulava and Hontiveros), American reinforcement (Douthit), foreign coach(Toroman),Well endorsed team with a high profile financial support, International trainings, What else?
All these and more are nothing because Smart Gilas had failed once again, and they failed big time. They know that they needed to win this game but I guess they cant. After a very successful and impressive run in the prelims with no defeats, Filipino fans had high hopes that we have a big chance of finally winning this tournament.

But the Iran National team spoiled our big celebration and once again and again and again and again, I am not sure how many times I have felt this frustration with this team and I cannot believe that after all those hype we will end up being in the battle for third place.

I like Smart Gilas and I know that they are a young team with a long way to go, but as a fan I cannot hide my frustrations with the result of the game. However I still want to give credit to Smart Gilas basketball team for being very competitive in the game and for giving Iranians a good fight. 

I always wonder when will we see the Philippines back on top of the basketball scene at least in Asia? What is next for the Smart Gilas?

The Scores:

Mahram Iran 80 – Bahrami 19, Samb 17, Kamrani 17, Williams 16, Eslamieh 11, Sahakian 0, Kardoost 0, Babak 0, Davari 0, Davoudichegani 0.

Gilas Philippines 77 – Douthit 25, Casio 21, Aguilar 8, Lassiter 8, Tiu 7, Lutz 4, Hontiveros 2, Barroca 2, Baracael 0, Taulava 0.

Quarters: 20-21, 45-39, 62-62, 80-77


Leave a comment