Aqua Knight tanker Jorel ‘Aquaman’ Lacson and his passion for the game

By: Paolo Manuel C. Fule

Born Joseph Earl D. Lacson on August 14, 1995 in Manila to Mr. Jhe Lacson and Ms. Ellen Lacson, the 5-foot-7 Aqua Knights swimmer is now studying at Colegio de San Juan de Letran taking up BS Information Technology.
Asked how he balances his studies and his sports, “I balance them by managing my time, reviewing for quizzes and doing home works the same day it was given to me because I need more sleep to prepare for the next day’s training”, said Jorel.  
He has over 70 medals in swimming and he considers the following as some of his best achievements in the sport: Being the most outstanding swimmer in the 2014 Agatx D-League swimming championships held in QC Sports Club on November 2014 where he got 11 medals including 8 golds and 3 silvers. He also placed 3rd(50m Butterfly) in the 2012 Speedo G-League National Long Course swimming championship in Rizal Memorial Stadium. He was also in the top 8 finalists in the recently concluded NCAA swimming season 92, top 6 in 50m Butterfly held at Rizal Memorial Stadium on September 2016.

“My swimming career started when I accompanied my younger sister in her swimming lessons. Instead of just looking after my sister, my mother suggested that I enroll in the swimming lessons too. Then my instructor saw potential in me and suggested to continue my swimming lessons into competitive swimming training. The next thing I knew, I was loving it and improving faster and becoming more dedicated into the sports” added Jorel.

His most unforgettable competition would be his first NCAA competition in 2015 because it was his goal to compete in the NCAA championships since he started swimming. His idol in the sport is Michael Phelps because he is the best and they both excel in butterfly stroke. He also likes Joseph Schooling of Singapore. “He made me believe that you can still beat the best with just the right dedication” quipped Jorel.  
His ambition in life is to make a name in Philippine swimming, finish his studies, and excel in his chosen field of knowledge and someday, be a happy old man with no regrets in life. With all the stuff that he is made of, his dreams are not far-fetched in the near future for this young aquatic wonder from Letran.
Email the author at: paolomanuelfule@yahoo.com

Leave a comment