Cebuano Hotshot RJ ‘The Sniper’ Dinolan to fulfill dream for his Dad

By: Paolo Manuel C. Fule

It takes a lot of guts, courage, and hard work to attain such discipline in the world of sports like basketball. But this 19-year-old handsome guy from Cebu has more to offer with the USJR Jaguars. Meet RJ “The Sniper” Dinolan. 
Born Ralph Jude Dinolan on June 18, 1996 in Cebu City to Mr. Isaias Dinolan and Ms. Dolores Dinolan, the 5’ 11” shooting guard is currently studying and playing for University of San Jose Recoletos Jaguars.

In the NBA, he likes 4-time NBA regular season MVP LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers because he facilitates his team well. In the PBA, he looks up to Calvin Abueva because of his fearlessness on the court. “My older brother taught me how to play the game. I was just around 9 years old at that time. I was just a rebounder”,  quipped RJ. 

“I was graduating then, and Ateneo de Cebu chose me as one of their reinforcement since I came from UV. It was Region 7’s first time to win a championship and we beat NCR. It’s a great honor to be part of the history” said RJ as one of his most memorable tournaments.
His career high is 32 points against SWU Cesafi tournament. RJ wants to pursue his studies and look forward in the developmental league and in the ranks of the PBA players someday. “This is for my family especially for my Dad who is ill due to his left stroke”, added RJ.  
Email the author at: paolomanuelfule@yahoo.com

Leave a comment